1932.11.11: Letter From Zell to Tsfasmans in Moscow

[two envelopes]

From Zellick Z

First to Zellick and Motya Tsfasman
Second to F. Tsfasman
#44a

November 11, 1932

Hello Zellick! (Alosha [Russian name] if you prefer)

Well if you want it to sound like Russian, you can have it.  Honestly, this puzzle is not easy for me.  Manya knows that and she knows the reason.  I am saying that because I don’t want you to be surprised by my sometimes wrong expression.  Honestly, I do not know what to write about.  I think that to write about myself is not important because Manya knows every detail of my private life and if you are interested you can learn everything from her.  Maybe you know more or less from the papers.  Anyway, I don’t want to tell about that in the letter, because I expect to see you soon.  For now, I just want to say hello to you and wish you all the best.  Also, my congratulations on your new title uncle.  I’m taking some of the responsibility for that, but she is herself responsible for the disturbance she’s giving you (for waking you up at night, etc.  You can sue her in family court).  Of course, I appreciate your troubles about my accommodation when I arrive.  I agree that it is hard to say something certain, without me.  But I think that this is not the most important thing.  The most important is, do you think my visit is timely?  I am just interested in your opinion as a person who lives there.  Not because I am going to change my mind.  I want to know my real condition.  Please be honest with me and write without any hesitation.  What do you think about it?  Your friend, Zellick.

Leave a comment